Skip to content

Seigan Japanese Language School

大阪市住吉区長居3-2-9, Osaka, Osaka

Seigan Japanese Language School (image from the school's official website)
© Seigan Japanese Language School

About the school

Seigan Japanese Language School was founded in 2012 and received approval from the Ministry of Justice on 20 August of that year (permit no. 343). Located in Nagai 3-chome, Sumiyoshi-ku, Osaka; the nearest station is Nagai (Midosuji Line and JR). In 2025 it had 140 students from about 13 countries, many from non-kanji backgrounds. More than 20 teachers and 10 staff. 11 classes from beginner to advanced; one term is 6 months, 5 days a week, with fewer than 20 students per class. Applications for the April 2027 intake are stated to be closed because capacity has been reached.

Fees

Annual tuition
From ¥720,000
Fee basis
Tuition only, from the school's current fee table. The fiscal year and tax treatment are not stated.
First-year total (as listed by the school)
¥910,000
Admission fee
¥50,000Year and tax not stated. The ¥30,000 review fee is separate.
Application / screening fee
¥30,000
Dormitory
YesFrom ¥34,000 per month

Dormitory & housing

Available (two apartment buildings the school contracts with a real-estate company, renewed every 3 months). Single room ¥34,000–37,000 per month (water and internet included; electricity and gas are paid by the resident in some units). Entry fee ¥30,000–35,000, bedding ¥12,000. 5 minutes' walk from JR Nagai station; 7–10 minutes' walk to the school, or next door.

Admission requirements

Intake months
  • April24 months(2 yrs)
  • October18 months(1 yr 6 mo)
Study period
April entry: 2 years / October entry: 1 year 6 months.
Admission requirements
Completion of 12 or more years of schooling and age 18+. If more than 5 years have passed since graduation, a statement of reasons is needed. Bank statement (1 year of transactions, ¥2,000,000 or more); the sponsor's annual income must be ¥2,000,000 or more. Documents differ by nationality and background. Screening fee ¥30,000.
Japanese level requirement
Proof of Japanese study is optional; no minimum hours or JLPT level. Classes run from beginner (N4–N5) to advanced (N1–N2). Skype/Zoom interview after document screening. A placement test after enrolment.
Graduation & further-study support
According to the FAQ there is no scholarship system. Help with preparing application documents. Advanced classes target JLPT N1 and EJU, with interview and job-hunting practice. JLPT passes among 2025 completers: N1 1, N2 5, N3 16, N4 15.
Accreditation
Approved by the Ministry of Justice on 20 August 2012 (permit no. 343). Self-evaluation of conformity with the notification standards is "A" (2025 self-inspection). Appropriate-school class, Certified Japanese Language Institution, preparatory course and Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education certification could not be confirmed. The April 2027 intake has closed because it reached capacity.
Nepal applicants
The official website states no country restrictions (please ask us). Required documents differ by nationality, region and background, so please ask us.
Language support
Website available in multiple languages (language codes EN, KO, ID, RU, TW, SP, ML, VN); these are not the language of instruction.

Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.