Ehle Institute Japanese Language Department
大阪市浪速区難波中3-9-1, Osaka, Osaka

About the school
The Japanese Language Department of the Ehle Institute educational corporation (Namba-naka, Naniwa-ku, Osaka). The institute started in 1967 and its Japanese language school in 1989. About 7 minutes' walk from Nankai Namba Station. It cites more than 50 years of university-entry guidance and 100,000 students. Five courses: entry to the University of Tokyo, Kyoto University and Osaka University; national and public universities; graduate school; general university entry; and employment in Japanese companies. It offers its own placement test, JLPT and EJU mock exams, and one-to-one guidance. A dormitory is available.
Fees
- Annual tuition
- From ¥800,000
- Fee basis
- For April 2026 entry: ¥400,000 × 2 half-year payments. Tax treatment not stated.
- First-year total (as listed by the school)
- ¥966,000
- Admission fee
- ¥70,000For April 2026 entry. Tax not stated. The ¥21,000 screening fee is separate.
- Application / screening fee
- ¥21,000
- Dormitory
- YesFrom ¥33,333 per month
Dormitory & housing
Available (the school's own dormitory, EHLE INTERNATIONAL HOUSE; 2 minutes' walk from Shin-Imamiya station, 15 minutes' walk to the school). Room fee for 6 months: single ¥310,000 / twin ¥230,000–250,000 / triple ¥200,000 (utilities and internet included). Additional: facility fee ¥70,000 (6 months), entry fee ¥30,000, deposit ¥10,000, bedding ¥13,000. Paid in full for 6 months in advance; applications go through a study-abroad agency.
Admission requirements
- Intake months
- April12 months(1 yr)24 months(2 yrs)
- October18 months(1 yr 6 mo)
- Study period
- April entry: 1 or 2 years / October entry: 1 year 6 months.
- Admission requirements
- Completion of 12 years of schooling outside Japan, aged 18 to 30 at entry. Graduate-school and job-in-Japan courses require a 4-year university degree or higher. The sponsor is normally a parent. Documents, an interview and sponsor screening. A certificate showing no active tuberculosis is required for the Philippines, Nepal and Vietnam (2027 admission guidelines).
- Japanese level requirement
- A JLPT-equivalent level is needed depending on the course. April 1-year: University of Tokyo/Kyoto/Osaka, national/public universities and graduate school N2; general N3. April 2-year: Tokyo etc. N4, general N5. October 1.5-year: Tokyo etc. N3, general N4. Students who do not reach the level in the post-entry class test move to the general pathway.
- Graduation & further-study support
- Five courses: University of Tokyo/Kyoto/Osaka, national/public universities, graduate school, general advancement and job in Japan. In-house JLPT/EJU mock exams, one-to-one advancement guidance and early-morning drills. The job course reports 100% employment/offers (stated for 5 years running) and internships. Scholarships not confirmed.
- Accreditation
- Could not be confirmed on the official site (no mention of a notified school, appropriate school, Certified Japanese Language Institution, Ministry of Education designation or Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education). The history only says the school belongs to the Yell Gakuen educational corporation and the Japanese school started in 1989.
- Nepal applicants
- The official website states no country restrictions (please ask us). Only Vietnam is mentioned by country (exam and interview at a partner institution).
- Language support
- Website available in Japanese, Chinese (simplified and traditional), English, Vietnamese, Indonesian and Korean.
Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.