Nagoya International School of Japanese Language(名古屋国際日本語学校)
Nagoya-shi, Showa-ku, Aichi

About the school
3-6 Hazamacho, Showa-ku, Nagoya. Near Tsurumai Station (JR and subway), next to Nagoya Institute of Technology, the Nagoya University School of Medicine and Tsurumai Park. Opened in 2003 and has accepted over 1,000 students in total. The current operator is Next Wave Co., Ltd. Capacity 158. Homeroom teachers give individual career guidance, and job-placement support (licensed fee-charging employment placement) is also provided. U-shaped desk arrangement encourages interaction.
Fees
- Annual tuition
- ¥594,000
- Fee basis
- Tuition of ¥594,000 in the admission guide (further-study course), including consumption tax (common to the 2-year and 1-year 9-month courses). First-year total ¥747,000 (including screening fee ¥22,000, admission fee ¥88,000, field trip fee ¥12,000, insurance and health check ¥10,000 and textbooks ¥21,000). Applicable fiscal year not stated.
- Admission fee
- ¥88,000Stated in the application guidelines, including consumption tax. The ¥22,000 screening fee is separate (¥44,000 for re-applicants and former technical intern trainees).
- Application / screening fee
- ¥22,000
- Dormitory
- YesFrom ¥23,000 per month
Dormitory & housing
4 school dormitories (Palacion, Sun Arena, Sun Oriente, Sun Annex). ¥45,000 per person (Sun Annex ¥36,000); for 2 or more people ¥23,000 per person. Furniture, air conditioner, washing machine, refrigerator and stove provided.
Admission requirements
- Intake months
- April24 months(2 yrs)
- July21 months(1 yr 9 mo)
- Study period
- Further-study 2 years (April to March of the year after next), 1 year 9 months (July). Elementary I and II 660 hours, pre-intermediate (N3) 510 hours, intermediate (N2) 350 hours (160 hours for the 1-year 9-month course). Short courses and an auditor course are also available.
- Admission requirements
- Education in the home country at high-school level or above, Japanese ability equivalent to N5, clear study purpose, secure financial support, and a guarantor in Japan or in the home country. Proof of Japanese study (150 or more hours) or JLPT certificate. Selection by document screening and interview (including the sponsor). No nationality-specific conditions are listed.
- Japanese level requirement
- N5 level. Proof of 150 or more hours of Japanese study, or a Japanese Language Proficiency Test certificate. Motivation and Japanese ability are checked at an interview.
- Graduation & further-study support
- Individual career guidance by the homeroom teacher, attendance at open campuses and briefings from June of the second year, application and interview prep. Advancement results: Osaka University graduate school, Nagoya University graduate school, Chukyo University, Nagoya University of Economics, Nissan Aichi Automobile College and others. Of 70 fiscal 2025 graduates, 55 advanced and 9 found jobs. A job support programme, and job support for Specified Skilled Worker and Engineer/Specialist in Humanities/International Services.
- Accreditation
- Appropriate school certified by the Ministry of Justice Nagoya Regional Immigration Services Bureau, and school certified by the Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education (official statement). Certified Japanese Language Institution (certified by the Minister of Education) could not be confirmed.
- Nepal applicants
- The official website's language menu includes Nepali. No country restrictions are stated. Overseas offices are in Korea, Vietnam, the Philippines and Indonesia.
- Language support
- Classes are taught in Japanese. Website available in Japanese, English, Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese and Nepali. Staff support languages are not stated.
Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.