Shizuoka Japanese Education Center(静岡日本語教育センター)
Shizuoka-shi (Aoi-ku), Shizuoka
About the school
A Japanese-language school at 11-6 Yokotacho, Aoi-ku, Shizuoka. About 15 minutes' walk from JR Shizuoka Station and 5 minutes' walk from Shizuoka Railway Otowacho Station. Started in 1990; a miscellaneous-category school (regular course) run by a school corporation. Capacity 200 (two-shift system). 6 full-time instructors. A small school with students from over 10 countries, focused on preparatory education for further study. The preparatory course for further study began in 2003
Fees
- Annual tuition
- ¥554,800
- Fee basis
- Tuition of ¥554,800 (for 760 hours per year). In addition, admission fee ¥65,000 and facilities and equipment fee ¥51,000, for a total of ¥670,800. Fiscal year not stated (the site shows a fiscal 2026 update). Tax not stated. Separate miscellaneous expenses (national health insurance, international student insurance, health check, materials) are ¥65,000 for April entry and ¥60,000 for October entry.
- Admission fee
- ¥65,000No tax indication. No year stated. The ¥51,000 facilities fee is separate
- Dormitory
- To be confirmed
Dormitory & housing
Not stated on the official website.
Admission requirements
- Intake months
- April24 months(2 yrs)12 months(1 yr)
- October18 months(1 yr 6 mo)
- Study period
- April entry: 2 years (1,520 hours) or 1 year (760 hours); October entry: 1 year 6 months (1,140 hours). Three classes: elementary, intermediate and advanced.
- Admission requirements
- Completion of 12 years of school education, healthy in mind and body, and non-smoking. Within 5 years of graduating from the last school, in principle under 30 (exceptions such as Japanese majors or N2 and above). A guarantor in Japan is required (relative within the 3rd degree of kinship, in principle living in Shizuoka Prefecture). Not required if applying through an overseas partner school. Entry sheet, graduation certificate and transcript, interview with the applicant, and selection exam (English and Japanese).
- Japanese level requirement
- 2-year course: N5 or above, or 150 or more hours of study. 1-year course: N3 level (about 800 hours). October entry 1-year 6-month course: N5 or above.
- Graduation & further-study support
- EJU and JLPT prep. Of 29 fiscal 2022 completers, 4 went to university and 25 to vocational school. Destinations include Shizuoka University, University of Shizuoka, Shizuoka Eiwa Gakuin University and Prospera Gakuin. Scholarship at graduation from the Ohashi Scholarship Foundation. JASSO study incentive grant for those excellent in the EJU.
- Accreditation
- Certified by the Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education (1989). Has a pathway preparation course. Whether it is a Certified Japanese Language Institution certified by the Minister of Education could not be confirmed.
- Nepal applicants
- The official website lists 9 partner institutions in Nepal. The enrolment procedure page has guidance in Nepali and Sinhala. No condition or restriction limiting applicants to Nepali nationals is stated.
- Language support
- Classes are taught in Japanese only (direct method). Website available in Japanese, English and Chinese. Admission guides in Nepali and Sinhala are available. Staff support languages are not stated.
Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.