Tokuyama Sougou Business School(徳山総合ビジネス専門学校 日本語学科)
Shunan-shi, Yamaguchi

About the school
2-13 Honmachi, Shunan, Yamaguchi, about 5 minutes' walk from JR Tokuyama Station. Founded in 1984; the Japanese Language Department was established in 2003. Run by the Yumenomori Gakuen general incorporated association. Recruitment capacity 260 (2-year further-study course). Dormitory fees and living costs are low, and as a petrochemical complex town it has plentiful part-time job information. Completing 2 years gives the Diploma (Senmonshi) and allows transfer into the third year of university.
Fees
- Annual tuition
- ¥470,000
- Fee basis
- First-year tuition (for 1 year) of ¥470,000 for the 2-year course for April 2027 entry (tax not stated). First-year fee total ¥939,500 = screening fee ¥20,000 + admission fee ¥80,000 + tuition ¥470,000 + facilities fee ¥110,000 + laboratory and practical training fee ¥55,000 + miscellaneous expenses ¥63,000 + materials ¥70,000 (for 2 years) + Japanese test fee ¥51,500 + insurance ¥20,000. The next year is ¥715,000.
- Admission fee
- ¥80,000April 2027 intake, 2-year course. No tax indication. The ¥20,000 screening fee is separate. The monthly dormitory fee is a calculated value: ¥158,000 for half a year ÷ 6
- Application / screening fee
- ¥20,000
- Dormitory
- YesFrom ¥26,333 per month
Dormitory & housing
Available (school dormitories: Minato, Yuraku, Jam Pop and Wakakusa dormitories, 10 minutes' walk; some are next to the school building). Rooms for 2-3 people ¥158,000 per half year (utilities and maintenance included), single room ¥188,000 per half year. The school provides appliances, furniture and tableware. Most international students live in dormitories.
Admission requirements
- Intake months
- April24 months(2 yrs)
- Study period
- Further-study 2-year course (1,600 class hours, 80 weeks, April entry).
- Admission requirements
- Completion of 12 or more years of school education, less than 10 years since graduating from the last school (5 or more years requires screening), 150 or more hours of Japanese study history (N5 equivalent or above), clear purpose of study and career path, financial support guarantee, no history of COE non-issuance at another school. Documents: application form, CV, graduation certificate, transcript, proof of Japanese study history, proof of Japanese ability (JLPT N5 / J.TEST level F / NAT level 4 or above), family register copy, passport, 10 photos, financial support documents (bank balance, tax certificate, etc.). No nationality-specific conditions are listed.
- Japanese level requirement
- N5 level or above (150 or more hours). A local interview or an online test, and an interview.
- Graduation & further-study support
- Developing Japanese ability for advancement to university or vocational school (advancement course). JASSO Study Incentive Grant for Privately Financed International Students (1 student every year, ¥48,000 per month). After 2 years, completers can obtain a vocational college diploma (Senmonshi) and transfer into the third year of university. Specific number of advancement results and designated schools not stated.
- Accreditation
- The guidelines say "a school approved by the Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education". The department page lists a "certified course (2-year pathway)". Certified Japanese Language Institution (certified by the Minister of Education) could not be confirmed.
- Nepal applicants
- The official website states no country restrictions. Nepal is listed among the countries of past international students. The department pages are available in 8 languages including Nepali.
- Language support
- Website: Japanese, English, Nepali, Urdu, Burmese, Bengali, Vietnamese, Sinhala and Chinese (department guide page). Classes are taught in Japanese. Staff support languages are not stated officially.
Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.