Skip to content

Utsunomiya Japanese Language School(宇都宮日本語学院)

Utsunomiya-shi, Tochigi

About the school

3-8-5 Motoimaizumi, Utsunomiya, Tochigi. Japanese-language education began in April 2004. Capacity 200 (two-shift system), 160 enrolled (April 2026), 13 teachers and 4 staff. A Japanese-language institution for entry to vocational schools and universities. Living support includes accompanying students to the city hall, visa renewal interviews and attendance guidance. Utsunomiya is about 50 minutes from Tokyo by Shinkansen.

Fees

Annual tuition
¥600,000
Fee basis
Official "International students (further-study course)" page. Tuition ¥600,000 for 1 year (¥900,000 for 1 year 6 months, ¥1,200,000 for 2 years). Tax inclusion not stated. Admission fee ¥100,000, equipment fee and other costs (materials etc.) are separate. Fiscal year not stated (the school overview shows figures as of April 2026). A separate page on tuition campaigns exists.
Admission fee
¥100,000Tuition and fees table on the official site, tax-included/tax-excluded not stated. The ¥20,000 screening fee is paid separately at application. Payments made after obtaining the Certificate of Eligibility are in principle not refunded (except when the visa is not issued, etc.).
Application / screening fee
¥20,000
Dormitory
To be confirmed

Dormitory & housing

No student dormitory. The school supports those who wish in finding housing (including help with moving).

Admission requirements

Intake months
  • April
  • October
Course lengths
18 months(1 yr 6 mo)24 months(2 yrs)
Study period
Further-study 2-year course (8 levels in all) / further-study 1-year 6-month course (from pre-intermediate II, 6 levels in all). 5 weekdays, 4 hours per day (9:00-12:45 / 13:15-17:00).
Admission requirements
Completion of 12 or more years of school education / aged 18 or over / ability to pay costs / A1 equivalent or above at enrollment (A2 equivalent or above for October intake). Selection by interview, etc. (in person or online). Documents are submitted by post, and foreign-language documents need Japanese translations. No nationality-specific conditions are listed.
Japanese level requirement
April entry: A1 level or above; October entry: A2 level or above. Checked by an interview and a test.
Graduation & further-study support
Interview and essay coaching, support after graduation as during enrolment. Main destinations (published officially): Tohoku University, Osaka University (graduate school), Niigata University, Utsunomiya University, Sakushin University, Teikyo University, Hakuoh University, TBC Gakuin, Orion IT College, Nissan Tochigi Automobile College and others. No scholarship stated.
Accreditation
Publishes a periodic inspection report under the notification standards based on the Ministry of Justice notification (notified school). Certification by the Minister of Education, appropriate-school class and Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education could not be confirmed.
Nepal applicants
The official website states no country restrictions. No mention of Nepal could be confirmed.
Language support
The common language in classes and on campus is Japanese. Website is in Japanese only (the school rules are available in Japanese, English and Chinese). No mention of Nepali support.

Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.